NA Approves 75 Demands for Grants worth 1.2 trillion PKR

ISLAMABAD, June 18, 2015: The National Assembly approved 75 Demands for Grants for 22 ministries and the Parliament on Saturday during 14th sitting of 33rd session, says Free and Fair Election Network (FAFEN).

Following are some key observations of the House proceeding:

Members’ Participation in House Proceeding

  • The National Assembly met for three hours and 22 minutes.

  • The proceeding remained suspended for 36 minutes due to lack of quorum.

  • The sitting started at 1106 hours against the scheduled time of 1100 hours.

  • The Speaker presided over the sitting for two hours and 16 minutes while the Deputy Speaker chaired the rest of the sitting.

  • The Prime Minister did not attended the sitting.

  • The Leader of the Opposition attended the sitting for two hours.

  • Finance Minister attended the entire sitting.

  • Fourteen Federal Ministers were present.

  • 45 MNAs (13%) were present at outset and 22 (6%) at adjournment of the sitting.

  • The parliamentary leaders of PkMAP, JI, AMLP and PML-Z were present.

  • Seven minority members were present.


  • The House approved 75 Demands for Grants worth 1.22 trillion rupees raised for 22 ministries and the secretariats of the Senate and the National Assembly. No cut motions were raised on these Demands for Grants.

Representation and Responsiveness

  • Ten lawmakers – two each of PTI, PPPP, MQM and JI and one each of AMLP and FATA – took part in the discussion on Charged Expenditure consuming 80 minutes. Finance Minister concluded the discussion and spoke for 25 minutes.

Order and Institutionalization

  • The proceeding remained suspended for 36 minutes due to lack of quorum pointed out by a PTI lawmaker at 1116 hours. Another PTI lawmaker pointed out quorum again at 1323 hours but it was found complete on counting.


  • ‘Orders of the Day’ was available to the legislators, observers and public.

  • The attendance of lawmakers was available to the media and observers.

This daily factsheet is based on direct observation of the National Assembly proceeding conducted by Free and Fair Election Network (FAFEN). Errors and omissions are excepted