Budget Discussion Continues in NA Amidst Opposition’s Protest

ISLAMABAD, May 30, 2017: Six lawmakers participated in the general discussion on the Budget 2017-2018 in the National Assembly while the opposition parties again walked out over speeches’ telecast issue on Tuesday, observes Free and Fair Election Network (FAFEN) in Daily Factsheet.

Following are key observations of the proceedings during fifth sitting of the 43rd session:

Members’ Participation

  • The National Assembly met for two hours and 17 minutes.
  • The sitting started at 1144 hours against the scheduled time of 1100 hours.
  • The Speaker presided over the sitting for an hour and 10 minutes while the Deputy Speaker chaired the rest of the sitting.
  • The Leader of the House (Prime Minister) did not attended the sitting while the Leader of the Opposition was present for 55 minutes.
  • Sixty-five lawmakers (19%) were present at the outset and 87 (25%) at the adjournment of sitting.
  • The parliamentary leaders of PPPP, JI, PkMAP, QWP-S, PML and AMLP attended the sitting.
  • Six minority lawmakers were present.

Representation and Responsiveness

  • Six lawmakers belonging to PML-N took part in general discussion on the budget for the year 2017-2018. The discussion consumed an hour and 18 minutes of the proceedings.

Order and Institutionalization

  • Ten lawmakers spoke on seven Points of Order consuming 50 minutes of the sitting.
  • Two PPPP lawmakers pointed out the quorum twice; however, it was found complete on both occasions.
  • Entire opposition walked out from the proceedings at 1239 hours over not telecasting the speeches of opposition lawmakers on state television. They did not return to the House till the adjournment. The lawmakers belonging to PTI also staged a protest in the House over this issue for one minute.


  • ‘Orders of the Day’ was available to the legislators, observers and public.
  • Information on Members’ attendance is available on National Assembly website.

This daily factsheet is based on direct observation of the National Assembly proceeding conducted by Free and Fair Election Network (FAFEN). Errors and omissions are excepted.