ECP to notify successful candidates against reserved seats on Aug 11

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) will notify the successful candidates on the reserved seats on Saturday, August 11, 2018 after final list of the returned candidates is published.

According to ECP sources, candidates from the reserved seats will be notified within two days after independent candidates join political parties. The deadline for the independent elected candidates in the National and Provincial Assemblies to join any political party is ending today (August 9, 2018).

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf won the maximum number of National Assembly’s seats (116) in the 2018 General Elections, followed by PML-N (64), PPPP (43), Independents (13), MMA (12), MQM-P (6), PML & BAP (4 each), BNP (3), GDA (2), and JWP, ANP and AML (one each).

The ECP has issued the list of 261 winning candidates, but has withheld the notifications of nine newly-elected parliamentarians.

Out of total 270 NA seats, PTI won 116 seats and is likely to get 26 women reserved seats as well as four minority seats. The PML-N would get the share of 14 women reserved seats and two minority seats; whereas the PPPP would get 10 women seats and one minority seat and MMA two women seats.

After the independent members join the ranks of political parties, the share of political party on the reserved seats will also increase.