National Assembly elects Prime Minister

National Assembly elects prime minister amid boycott and a lingering controversy over the removal of former prime minister. More here.


ISLAMABAD, April 11, 2022: The National Assembly on Monday elected Mian Muhammad Shehbaz Sharif as the leader of the house with 174 votes in his favor after PTI lawmakers boycotted the election, observes Free and Fair Election Network (FAFEN) in Daily Factsheet.

Following are key observations of the proceedings during the 7th sitting of the 41st session, where the National Assembly elects prime minister:

 Members’ Participation

  • The National Assembly met for two hours and 53 minutes.
  • The sitting started at 03:14 pm against the scheduled time of 02:00 pm.
  • The deputy speaker presided over the proceedings for 42 minutes while the remaining sitting was chaired by a member of panel of chairpersons.
  • The newly elected leader of the house attended the entire sitting.
  • As many as 280 (82 percent) lawmakers were present at the outset and 148 (43 percent) at the adjournment of the sitting.
  • Parliamentary leaders of MQMP, PML-N, ANP, MMAP, GDA, AMLP, PML, BAP, BNP-M, PPPP and JWP attended the sitting.
  • Nine out of ten minority lawmakers were present.

National Assembly Elects Prime Minister

  • The joint opposition nominee Mian Muhammad Shehbaz Sharif secured 174 votes and elected as leader of the house. PTI nominee Makhdoom Shah Mahmood Hussain Qureshi announced to boycott the election and left the House along with his party lawmakers and other allies at 03:57 pm.

Order and Institutionalization

  • The newly elected Prime Minister made his maiden speech in the House and spoke for 59 minutes.
  •  PTI nominee for leader of the house spoke on a point of order for 27 minutes.
  • The House was adjourned to meet again on Saturday, April 16, 2022 at 04:00 pm.


  • ‘Orders of the Day’ was available to legislators, observers and public.
  • Attendance of lawmakers was available to media and observers.

This daily factsheet is based on direct observation of the National Assembly proceedings conducted by Free and Fair Election Network (FAFEN). Errors and omissions are excepted