One Bill Passed in Joint Sitting of the Parliament

ISLAMABAD, March 21, 2016: The Majlis-e-Shoora passed a government bill on Monday during first day of the Joint Sitting, says Free and Fair Election Network (FAFEN).

Following are some key observations of the House proceeding:

Members’ Participation in House Proceedings

  • The Majlis-e-Shoora met for three hours and 34 minutes.
  • The sitting started at 1746 hours against its scheduled time of 1700 hours.
  • The Speaker of the National Assembly presided over the entire sitting.
  • The Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly was present while the Chairman and Deputy Chairman of Senate did not attend the sitting.
  • The Prime Minister attended the sitting for 44 minutes while the Leader of the Opposition in the National Assembly was present during entire sitting.
  • The Leader of the House in the Senate attended the entire sitting while the Leader of the Opposition in the Senate was present for 137 minutes.
  • Eighteen Federal Ministers were present.
  • 263 Parliamentarians (59%) were present at outset and 112 (25%) at the adjournment of the sitting.
  • The parliamentary leaders of MQM, PML-F, PkMAP, ANP, JI, QWP-S, APML, AMLP and PML-Z were present.
  • Ten minority members were present.


  • The House passed the Gas (Theft Control and Recovery) Bill, 2014. The lawmakers belonging to the Treasury and the Opposition moved amendments to the bill. Four of the amendments moved by the Opposition were also passed.
  • Six other bills appearing on the agenda were not taken up.

Order and Institutionalization

  • The lawmakers spoke on ten points of order consuming 91 minutes of the proceedings.
  • The Parliamentarians belonging to MQM staged walkout at 1907 hours against arrest of their party workers. They returned to the House at 1943 hours.
  • The Speaker adjourned the Joint Sitting of the Majlis-e-Shoora till 1200 hours Tuesday and the National Assembly till 1030 hours Thursday.


  • ‘Orders of the Day’ was available to the legislators, observers and public.

This daily factsheet is based on direct observation of the Majlis-e-Shoora proceeding conducted by Free and Fair Election Network (FAFEN). Errors and omissions are excepted