Renowned Academics, Journalist Appointed TDEA Trustees

ISLAMABAD, October 7, 2015: A seven-member board headed by renowned journalist and analyst Muhammad Ziauddin has assumed its responsibilities as Trustees of the Trust for Democratic Education and Accountability, which also supports the operations of the Free and Fair Election Network (FAFEN), says a press release issued on Wednesday.

The appointment of the new board is part of TDEA’s institutional reforms and expansion of its scope of work which includes forming and supporting civil society networks similar to FAFEN to work on broader issues of social and economic development. The new Trustees are accomplished professionals and bring years of rich experience and expertise to complement this expansion of the Trust operations.

The seven-member board also includes Dr. Syed Jaffar Ahmed, Director of the Pakistan Study Center at the University of Karachi, Professor Afiya S. Zia, member of Women’s Action Forum and a researcher, Mr. Kahoor Baloch, Director General, Social Welfare Department, Government of Balochistan, Ali Baba Taj, a renowned linguist and lecturer at General Musa College, Quetta, Dr. Muhammad Waseem, Professor of Political Science at Lahore University of Management Sciences and Shamim Shahid, an accomplished journalist.

The new TDEA Chairperson, Muhammad Ziauddin, is an accomplished journalist with over forty years of experience of closely looking at and reporting on a broad array of issues and situations facing Pakistan with a particular focus and grip on economy and politics. He has held high profile editorships of the Daily Dawn, The News International and the Daily Express Tribune.

The outgoing members of the Board of Trustees include Mr. Zaheer Khattak, Executive Director, Urban Rural Development Organization (URDO), Mr Sarwar Bari, Executive Director, PATTAN Development Organization, Ms. Mossarat Qadeem, Executive Director, PAIMAN Alumni Trust, Mr Nasrullah, Executive Director, Center for Peace and Development (CPD), Ms. Sadiqa Salahuddin, Executive Director, Indus Resource Centre, Mr Zahid Islam, Executive Director, Sangat, Mr. Zubair Ambia, former Executive Director, Association for Creation of Employment, Mr. Mohammad Younus Bandhani, Director, Baanhn Beli, Mr. Ghafar Shah, Executive Director, Community Awareness Raising and Advocacy Ventures Around Needs (Caravan), Mr. Faiz-ur-Rehman Mashal, Executive Director, Community Development Program (CDP), Mr Syed Shah Nasir Khisro,  Executive Director, Integrated Regional Support Program (IRSP), Mr. Owais Aslam Ali, Executive Director, Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF), Mr. Shakir Ishaq, Executive Director, Basic Education for Awareness Reforms and Empowerment (BEFARe), Ms. Maimoona Noor, Executive Director, All Women’s Advancement and Resource Development (AWARD) and Mukhtar Javed, National Programme Manager, Human and Democratic Rights, Sungi Development Foundation (SDF).