Mossarat Qadeem Elected as FAFEN Chairperson

ISLAMABAD, November 30, 2021: The National Council of Free and Fair Election Network (FAFEN) elected its new chairperson Ms. Mossarat Qadeem on November 29, 2021 for a term of three years.

Ms. Mossarat Qadeem, who has replaced Mr. Hameedullah Kakar, is a civil society figure and activist internationally known for her work on women empowerment and peace. She heads Paiman Alumni Trust. This is Ms. Mossarat’s second term as FAFEN’s chairperson.

Elections for FAFEN’s provincial, national and executive councils were held in November 2021 to elect the new office-bearers. FAFEN’s member regional networks had elected their conveners in September and October 2021. The election of chairperson marks the culmination of FAFEN’s transition from a network of civil society organizations to a network of 20 independent regional networks with cumulative membership of over 500 civil society organizations. The transition process started in December 2020.

Ms. Mossarat will head a nine-member Executive Council of FAFEN, two members elected from each of four provinces and one member on woman seat, comprising Mr. Mukhtar Javed and Zaheer Khattak from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Mr. Sajid Ali and Mr. Zahid Iqbal from Punjab, Mr. Hameedullah Kakar and Mr. Nasrullah from Balochistan and Mr. Younas Bandhani and Mr. Jan Odhano from Sindh. Ms. Ambreen Ajaib has been elected on woman seat in the Executive Council.

The outgoing Executive Council has felicitated the newly-elected chairperson and other members.

To download Urdu Press Release, click here